Organising committee

Who is behind the Concrete 2025 Conference?

Tom Benn - SA/NT State President, Concrete Institute of Australia - Adjunct Senior Research Fellow, University of South Australia
Yan Zhuge - Professor in Structural Engineering, University of South Australia
Thong Pham - Associate Professor, Enterprise Fellow, University of South Australia
Reza Hassanli - Senior Lecturer, University of South Australia
David Millar - Chief Executive Officer, Concrete Institute of Australaia

David Millar is the Chief Executive Officer of the Concrete Institute of Australia. He has 30 years’ experience in the concrete industry in Australia, working in the industry association sector as well in the concrete materials, construction chemicals, and precast areas. Prior to his appointment as CEO with the Institute in 2014, David was a member of the CIA for 15 years, as well as being the Executive Director of the Concrete Pipe Association of Australasia, and serving as a Director on numerous boards of affiliated industry associations and groups. David has been involved in the last 11 CIA conferences, in particular as an Organising Committee member for Concrete 2015, Concrete 2017, Concrete 2019 along with the fib 2018 Congress in Melbourne.

Nicole Walker - Membership Services Manager, Concrete Institute of Australia

Nicole has extensive membership and professional development experience in associations and not-for-profits. She has been heavily involved in the creation and delivery of many conferences and although she is quite new to the world of concrete, Nicole will ensure that the event covers all the bases of education, innovation and most importantly – enjoyment! She is very much looking forward to working with the Organising Committee who has shown a solid commitment to deliver an exceptional conference.